Ring out the Old, Ring in the New!

One thing we are sure the New Year will bring is a brand new boiler – and very welcome it will be! What else?

Discussing this some time ago, in response to the question, “What do you wish for yourself at New Year / on a birthday?” a friend declared that she refused to answer because the very question implied that she was dissatisfied or envious, whereas actually she was quite content. The question was changed to, “What would you like to change in your life?” and an animated debate ensued.

Well, I have to be realistic: I can’t suddenly make myself 40 years younger, which is what I would probably like most, although I don’t particularly want to go back to the circumstances of that time, only to be the age and the person I was. What I’d do differently is a topic for another time. Right now, I’m being realistic!

I tend to side with my friend here. I, too, am generally very contented with my lot. As I have said many times on this blog, I have a loving and delightful family, not perfect of course, as we all have our failings and foibles and how dull it would be without them. I also have true, loyal friends who make me laugh, support and encourage me, in good times and in bad and for whom I am extremely grateful.

Oh, I know what resolutions I ought to make, including losing about 30 kg and taking more exercise, but I am also realistic enough to know that there isn’t any point. I’ll never do it by willpower. I could resolve to stop interrupting people, as I know it’s an irritating habit. So yes, I will make an effort to be generally more considerate and respectful of others. Do I need to make any further attempts to change my life or lifestyle?

As I said, I’m pretty well contented with my life, and I don’t need great wealth, though health could be better. Just not worse! A peaceful spirit, perhaps.

There isn’t much time left in 2011, but maybe something will occur to me. Or to you, who know me – any suggestions?

Leave a comment