Yarn, Yarn, Yawn …

I mentioned my crochet briefly in my last post, so it’s only fair to update the knitter-natterers among my readers. The rest of you can safely stop reading at this point. It’s fairly obvious that I’ll never achieve great renown in the world of needlecraft, but that by no means diminishes my pleasure in my work and I feel quite proud of my latest project in spite of its flaws.

Once again, I’m blaming my Darling Daughter for leading me astray, into Olivia’s Little Shop of Woolly Delights. This time I was unable to resist some yarn made of 100% linen in a sludgy mud colour, that Olivia and DD both declared matched my hair. I think that observation was intended as a compliment and I was intrigued by the idea of crocheting with linen so I blew a hundred-frank note on a bag of 10 skeins with no idea of what I would do with it.

While I cogitated on possible incarnations for the linen yarn, I made a cosy granny blanket in some bluish-grey wool that DD passed on, saying she hadn’t liked the colour for the garment she had started making with it. Or maybe she felt guilty for making me spend so much at Olivia’s?

The colour appealed to me, however, and I married it with some skeins of a deeper warm blue and creamy white merino, and several hours later had finished my traditional shell-pattern blanket. The colours remind me of the sea, and a second similar blanket is currently in progress; they may end up in our little house in Brittany if I ever manage to get there again.

IMG_1373I also teamed a skein of the grey-blue with some rusty red wool – this, too, inherited from DD (yes, she is extremely generous) – and made a granny shawl that developed into an interesting shape. Deliberate, of course. And though it resembles a ray it doesn’t have eyes on its underside.

That more or less exhausted my little stash apart from the linen yarn so I knew the moment of truth had come, and it was time to move onto something serious.

Browsing the Internet, I found a free pattern on Ravelry for a lacy chevron cardigan that looked suitable for my linen yarn. The jacket was all in one piece, crocheted from the neck down. Would I be able to follow the pattern? I was, and I did. Hurrah! (Thank you, Miloba.)

Instructions said to stop when the body and sleeves are the length you like, so I kept on with the body till it was just past my bottom and ended the sleeves just above the elbow. Then I blocked it, and it gained several inches so the sleeves are now just below the elbow and the jacket descends to my knees – but who’s to know that isn’t deliberate? It’s better than having it shrink. IMG_1379

On trying it on, I also realised that I had made several mistakes in the first few rows around the neck. How do you rectify that without unravelling the whole thing? Luckily, I still had two skeins left, so I made a new chain and followed the pattern absolutely precisely with no mistakes until I had several rows of chevron crochet that looked the way it was supposed to. Joined to the neckline of my jacket with a few rows of single and double crochet, it forms a frilly collar that covers the multitude of original sins. Well, I like it. IMG_0262

I had the foresight to make buttonholes down the right-hand front band of the cardigan just in case it needs buttons, which it probably doesn’t, but if I find some really attractive ones I may add them. Is this garment a success? I shall wear it anyway, since it cost me both time and money, and convince myself it doesn’t look too amateurish and typical granny handiwork. Please don’t dash my illusions: I’ve worked all the loose ends in so they are completely invisible, and I’ll never find them again. It would be very wearying to have to unravel it all.

The wool for the blankets is Drops Karisma, with Schachenmayr Merino Extrafine 120
The linen yarn is Lang Lino.
And the cardigan pattern is at https://milobo.files.wordpress.com/2009/12/chevron-lace-cardigan-v4.pdf

10 thoughts on “Yarn, Yarn, Yawn …

    • This is really a very easy pattern, but you start at the neck so have to increase for the first four rows. I didn’t notice that my increasing was irregular until I got right to the end – grrrr! – hence the collar. Second time round, perfect!

  1. That is a very successful garment! Aren’t you clever?! I am hopeless with anything more than the most basic crochet and patterns look like mad hieroglyphics to me 😮 Look forward to seeing it in person 😉

  2. I’m not a knitter of any repute or stature at all, you will not be surprised to know, and hardly know one end of a knitting needle from the other, but I always admire people who engage in crafts of any kind and you clearly do and with significant ability I think. Rectifying self-made mistakes, on the other hand, has been a life-time preoccupation !

Leave a Reply

