When Grandad Goes To Sleep …

false-teeth

When Grandad went to bed
He took his teeth out for the night;
Grinning in the glass
They were a terrifying sight.

Then on his bedside table
Grandad put his specs,
Followed by his toupé –
His hearing aids came next.

He lay down on his pillow,
Pulled the sheet over his head,
None of him was visible
As he slumbered in his bed.

Grandad’s disembodied dentures,
Topped off by his hair,
With his glasses in the middle,
Gave the grandchildren a scare.

Image1269

Johnny screamed, “Oh! Grandad
Has taken off his head,
It’s on his bedside table
Instead of in his bed!”

But Jenny said, “Don’t worry,
Grandad’s head’s still there –
That one on the bedside table
Is the one he keeps for spare.”

10 thoughts on “When Grandad Goes To Sleep …

  1. LOL! Wonderful humour! And so true. It’s really quite hilarious.
    My goodness, I must, must reblog this. I reblogged a bit too much recently, I think. However I cannot help myself, I want my family and friends to read it. This is why I am going to reblog it..
    You made me feel very amused today. Thank you, Catterel!

  2. That is how I feel. All those bits and pieces attached to the head are slowly giving up their ability to function. It is a wonder that the grey mass inside the scull is still functioning. .Let the kids have a laugh in sixty, seventy years time they will experience the same.

Leave a Reply

