Are You A Banana?

You are what you eat, declared the great Escoffier, and people have been jokingly quoting him ever since. My facebook page and e-mail box have been bombarded recently with tips and hints about what wonderful results I will see in my life and particularly in my physical and mental health if I eat, drink or otherwise ingest this or that food. An apple a day may keep the doctor away, but it seems that is no longer sufficient.

Cucumbers got a plug from me in July of last year but until now I’ve resisted the temptation to pass on all the rest, including vinegar and bicarbonate of soda, though they did get a passing mention. However, if you have nothing else to do, and the willpower to persist in trials of these, I offer you this sample collection of websites. That is not to say that I am following my own advice. However, kind-hearted and generous as I am, I have decided not to withhold this information for any longer.

  1. bananas

    bananas (Photo credit: Fernando Stankuns)

    Bananas: Some truly fascinating facts here. We associate them with the West Indies but did you know they originated in Malaysia, and had reached India by the time Alexander the Great arrived there? I like the mental picture of Big Al reclining with a banana.  Nutritionally and medically, of course, they are good for everything from anaemia to warts by way of depression and hangovers.

  2. Honey and cinnamon: The title of this website is self-explanatory. I often start my day with porridge, to which I add half a banana, a spoonful of honey and a fair sprinkling of cinnamon, so it’s gratifying to find that I may quite fortuitously be curing whatever I’m suffering from – or at least, delaying the onslaught!
  3. Coconut oil: I haven’t found this in my local stores, though coconut milk is plentiful. Does that have the same effect? Perhaps I just have to widen my search before it’s too late.  It shouldn’t be too difficult to incorporate into a daily diet, and I have friends in Florida who regularly cook with it, so I shall follow news of their ageing progress with interest. Watch this.
  4. Garlic, turmeric and ginger:  Curry every day! You’d better invite friends around to share, or stay at home if you are intending to consume so much garlic.  But this site might take a couple of days to read, mark and inwardly digest.
  5. Celery: Another regular item on my menus, so I’m pleased to find it’s also so beneficial. Carry on Celery!

    Head of celery, sold as a vegetable. Usually o...

    Head of celery, sold as a vegetable. Usually only the stalks are eaten. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Finally, a tip received today for prolonging the shelf life of fresh berries, grapes and other fruit:

When you get your berries home, prepare a mixture of one part vinegar (white or apple cider probably work best) and ten parts water.
Dump the berries into the mixture and swirl around.
Drain, rinse if you want (though the mixture is so diluted you can’t taste the vinegar,) and pop in the fridge.
The vinegar kills any mould spores and other bacteria that might be on the surface of the fruit, and voilà!
Raspberries will last a week or more, and strawberries go almost two weeks without getting mouldy and soft.

Vinegar

So go forth and stock up on those pricey little gems, knowing they’ll stay fresh as long as it takes you to eat them.

4 thoughts on “Are You A Banana?

  1. I’m interested in prolonging the shelf life of fruit. Thanks for this tip with the vinegar.
    I’m also keen on eating one banana every day. But I also use Psylium husks to stay regular.

Leave a Reply

