The Joys of Genealogy: suite et fin

As promised, I’m reporting on progress with ancestry.com.

A day after contacting them by e-mail, I received a polite and helpful reply which appeared to be from a live human being and not a robot, telling me that I had probably created a duplicate account. The kind lady at the help desk signed herself Laurel. She regretted my frustration, cancelled my free trial, assured me I wasn’t going to be charged anything, and promised to investigate the possible cause of my problem.

After poking about a bit over the weekend, she returned to inform me that her initial assumption was wrong, and I didn’t have a duplicate account. However, she pointed me to a help page which took me very clearly through various trouble-shooting activities, and after a little firing practice I shot the right target: it was, as she had mooted, “a browser compatibility issue”. It sounds as though my unhappy browser, suffering from incompatibility or unrequited love, had become a comfort eater and acquired a secret store of cookies: that was the obstacle.  I emptied his cache and took away his cookies, and hope he won’t sulk.

Hallelujah, I can now access my little trees again, and resume my arboriculture.

I reported back to Laurel, and informed her that at some future date I’d like to take up the free trial again. Alas, it seems only one free trial is allowed per person and I’ve blown mine. So no access to records unless I take out a membership. I suppose that’s fair enough. The fault lay with my computer and not with ancestry.com, and as I said in my original post, the beauty of ancestry,com is its user friendliness.

I have to commend the user-friendly customer help, too. Laurel sounds lovely.  I send her a virtual hug – from a friendly user. Maybe I’ll take out a one-month subscription next time there’s a special offer!

PS: Is this my browser? Female, not male after all? Or is it me, raging at ancestry.com? (image suggested by WordPress to go with this post)

Kiyohime (Woman who transformed into a serpent...

Kiyohime (Woman who transformed into a serpent-demon out of the rage of unrequited love) from the Dōjō-ji Engi Emaki (道成寺縁起絵巻) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

5 thoughts on “The Joys of Genealogy: suite et fin

  1. Hey Cat,
    I thought I would mention this, because I find it a bit weird. Ancestry.com was run by mormons before becoming a publicly traded company a few years back. Their goal is to get the name of every soul, living or dead, so they can baptise them by-proxy. They believe (loosely, this is my interpretation, obviously.) that to be together as a family in the afterlife all the members of your family have to be baptised, even if they are deceased.
    Ive always thought that a genealogy website is a clever way to achieve their goals. No?
    Best,
    – S.

    • Interesting, thank you for that, S. I knew that the Mormons baptised their own ancestors and that’s why they have so much genealogical information,but wasn’t aware of this goal – which does make sense if you’re a Mormon, i suppose, and if so then ancestry.com is a good idea from that perspective. I find their beliefs and practices questionable, but I don’t think my ancestors will mind being baptised posthumously. They were all baptised into the Christian church during their lifetimes, and I think that’s going to carry more weight in their afterlife. Although you now have me imagining a brand new scenario of them in the hereafter, wagging their fingers at me … oh dear!

Leave a Reply

