Competition: Why do I write?

I’m not a competition buff but when I saw this contest, it was like waving a cup of steaming coffee under my nose. Nancy at  Spirit Lights the Way has the details –

“Write a short essay or poem (between 33 and 100 words) about your writing desk, your writing rituals, why you write, how you write, how you stop writing, or . . . surprise us with a tantalizing tidbit about your writing life. … Illustrate your essay or poem with a photo, drawing, or other visual depiction of your favorite writing space.”

Closing date is noon on Robbie Burns’ birthday (today).
I don’t have a writing desk – I write anywhere. But this is my most tranquil spot:
DIGITAL CAMERA
Why do I write?

I write because I have so much to say
And people have no time to listen.
I have comments on everything:
My head is a seedpod about to burst.

I write because thoughts, ideas and feelings
Struggle screaming to come out, like babies
Ready for birth; they flow like
Mother’s milk when baby cries,

I write because when I speak
It doesn’t always sound like what I mean
And writing makes order
Out of chaos.

I write because I might forget
Something important
Among all the drivel
Dribbling from my mouth.

I write because
I breathe.

15 thoughts on “Competition: Why do I write?

  1. Thanks for entering! Love the image of the “seedpod about to burst.” I agree with you about writing and breathing. They seem to go hand in hand for many/most/all writers.

    And THOSE PILLOWS! How inviting.

  2. “I write becaue I breathe” – thank you – that really spoke to me. Love your writing corner and blend of new and old.

  3. Pingback: The Writer’s Desk ~ Let the Voting Begin! « Spirit Lights The Way

Leave a Reply

