Unexpected Honour (Part III)

As I mentioned a few days ago, The Secret World of S. took me by surprise when she dropped several awards on my blog. It would be churlish to decline – and anyway, as well as being an honour, it’s a bit of a challenge and I enjoy facing challenges.

I met the requirements for the Versatile Blogger in my post Unexpected Honour (Part II), and am working on those for the Sunshine Blogger Award which I’m finding very demanding. It will take a while, I think, so today I move onto the Beautiful Blogger Award, the 7×7 Link Award and the Very Inspirational Blogger Award. Complying with these requirements is much easier, as they overlap:

Beautiful Blogger Award 

1) Thank and Link-back to your nominator: Once again, a huge thank you to Secret World of S.

2) Nominate 7, 6, or fewer (or more) other blogs that you enjoy to receive this award as well: I like the happy-go-lucky attitude of this – any number of blogs can be nominated. So I refer you to all those I have already nominated for the Versatile Blogger Award, since their blogs are also all very beautiful.

3) Post a comment on your nominees’ blogs with a link to your page for the details: Did that, as I never miss the chance for a bit of self-advertising.

4) Paste the Award image somewhere on your blog, if so desired. – I’m putting them all together on my Catty Corner page, and if I can figure out which widget to use they may also appear in my right-hand margin (but don’t hold your breath).

5) And, continue blogging all your beautiful thoughts, suggestions, and musings. No problem with that – I suffer from Logorrhoea!

7 x 7 Link Award

The 7 x 7 Link Award rules are as follows:

1. Tell everyone 7 facts that no one else may know about you

2. Link to one of 7 posts that you feel best fits the following categories:
Most Beautiful Piece, Most Helpful Piece, Most Popular Piece, Most Controversial Piece, Most Surprisingly Successful Piece, Most Underrated Piece, Most Pride-Worthy Piece

3. Pass this award to 7 other bloggers

My life is an open book, so finding seven unknown facts is tough. Here we go:

  1. When I was seven, I wanted to be a ballerina. That was inspired by my first sight of ballet dancers at a pantomime, and the discovery that I could stand on my toes (with my shoes on) and walk without bending my knees. Had I pursued my ambition, I might have developed better posture and more graceful movements – but would hardly have made it to the Hippopotamuses’ corps de ballet in Fantasia!
  2. When I was learning to play the piano, I twice got 100% in Trinity College music exams. My mother has newspaper cuttings to prove it and somewhere I have certificates.
  3. My middle name is Lois. Not many people know that, and for some reason it causes surprise when revealed. Now, what’s wrong with Lois?
  4. When I was a student in Aix-en-Provence, I unwittingly abetted a terrorist. I hope that comes under the statute of limitations, and I can’t be prosecuted for it any more!
  5. I didn’t learn to swim until I was sixty. And even so, it took me well over a year until I managed my first few strokes. But that’s all part of my poor motor coordination and dyspraxia, and ties in with my ballet dancing and having had over a hundred driving lessons. I’m now reasonably proficient but don’t like being out of my depth and don’t really trust the sea to fling me back onto the shore.
  6. I can recite the English alphabet backwards.
    English: tandem sky-diving in Cordoba, Argentina

    English: tandem sky-diving in Cordoba, Argentina (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

     

  7. My secret ambition is to try skydiving. No longer secret, but I’m pretty sure that is one thing that nobody else knew about until now.

Now for the bit where I have to simultaneously blow my own trumpet and exercise self-criticism. Which of my posts fit best into these categories? I’ve published nearly 150 posts, so I have to go and have a look at them all again, whilst trying to be objective. I admit that I can’t manage that and you are free to disagree with my selection. I’d be interested to know if anyone has any other suggestions.

–       Most Beautiful Piece: Hollyhocks. I felt strongly about this topic, and although my photograph doesn’t do the flowers justice, I did succeed in combining quite naturally photo, prose and poem.

–       Most Helpful Piece: Just do it, don’t talk about it. At least for me, this message is important.

–       Most Popular Piece: Much to my amusement, as a not very serious cook, All Bran Loaf! So much for my would-be serious posts.

–       Most Controversial Piece: Why Man? Is the one that aroused most comment, so I suppose it must be the most controversial. I don’t set out to be controversial, though I do try to provoke thought.

–       Most Surprisingly Successful Piece: Friends before birth and beyond death. This was a very personal piece, and I didn’t think I had succeeded in expressing my feelings. Reactions implied that I had.

–       Most Underrated Piece: Jörg Zink. I liked this poem, was happy to find a fitting photo among my own snaps, and was irritated that I couldn’t find the original German, as I was sure I could improve on my translation. However, nobody has responded at all. I’m still looking for the German.

–       Most Pride-Worthy Piece: Dementia. I am totally incapable of evaluating the merits of my own poems, as my judgement is always clouded by my emotions. This one came as a series of pictures in my mind and its words flowed as I described the images.

Finally, I pass this award on to 7 other bloggers, and will nominate some I haven’t mentioned before, to encourage them:

http://translationbrew.wordpress.com/
http://chestermaynes.wordpress.com/
http://clairemca.wordpress.com/
http://maggiesonebuttkitchen.wordpress.com/
http://crashandbern.wordpress.com/
http://www.teaconspiracy.blogspot.co.uk/
http://fourbluehills.wordpress.com

Very Inspirational Blogger Award 

  1. Share 7 things about yourself
  2. Pass this award on to 7 other bloggers

Done – I’ve shared more than 7 things and I pass this award on to everybody I’ve nominated for all the others, since they have all inspired me in some way or other. And thank you to those who follow my blog – you give me courage to continue.

One thought on “Unexpected Honour (Part III)

  1. Wow, you are rolling in awards and deservedly so, thank you sincerely for the nomination and for visiting and commenting on my blog also, that is the biggest encouragement for me, when someone stops by and leaves a few words of acknowledgement. So thank you again and I look forward to reading more from you and your inspiring blog.

Leave a Reply

