The Family Face

Heredity

I am the family face;

Flesh perishes, I live on
,
Projecting trait and trace
Through times to times anon,
And leaping from place to place
Over oblivion.

The years-heired feature that can
In curve and voice and eye

Despise the human span
Of durance – that is I;
The eternal thing in man
That heeds no call to die.

Thomas Hardy, 1917

 Need I say more? There is a leap of 111 years and six generations between these two photographs. It will be interesting to compare the family face in a few years time: we have another lovely photo of our baby’s great-great-great-grandmother at the age of 14. If I’m still blogging in another thirteen years, watch this space!

4 thoughts on “The Family Face

  1. Lovely photos! Is it possible that after six generations there’s a family resemblance?
    My mother-in-law was born in 1900. When she was 11, there was a photo taken at a family celebration. Eleven year old Frieda is in it together with lots and lots of family members. My husband inherited this photo with a record of all the people in it.

    • There must be an awful lot of other genes in there after 6 generations, in this case also from different countries. But I have been looking at photos of our latest baby and thinking she reminded me of someone … When we were looking at the old family photos, it suddenly struck me who that was! I know lots of people say all babies look alike – but I disagree. Some are funnier or prettier than others, and they don’t all look like Churchill!

  2. I am often amazed at how different babies look – and yet there seem to be “types”, too! I can see the resemblance here – though Mireille looks rather less anxious ;o

Leave a Reply

