Unexpected Honour (Part I)

For a while, I was speechless. That’s a rare occurrence and worth recording. What gob-smacked me was a nomination for a bunch of awards from a fellow-blogger – Versatile Blogger award, Sunshine award, 7×7 Link award, Inspirational Blogger award and Beautiful Blogger award. All at once!

I feel deeply honoured, surprised, and more than a bit daunted. Does that mean I have to live up to some kind of standard? Cynical murmurings in the back of my head tell me that this is a strategic device – rather like pyramid selling – to get more and more people involved in blogging at WordPress, but those tiny voices are silenced by my vanity: I have always been a sucker for flattery! I ought to insert the logos for these here, but I don’t know how to do that yet. Maybe someone can tell me? I’ll just post a photo instead to sum up how I feel (up to you to figure out the symbolism!): 

It IS a pleasant feeling to discover that a complete stranger appreciates and empathises with the stuff I’m writing. Compliments from friends and family are, of course, also appreciated, but they are suspect – dear ones are biased (apart from my truly honest, candid friend who is my most devastating critic). I was startled when I first began blogging to find that there were people I didn’t know reading my blog and even following it. So you can imagine my delight at receiving these awards.  Thank you S., you have overwhelmed me!

There are conditions attached, and I have to try and fulfil them, which may be a challenge. For one thing, I have to pass on the awards – the versatile blogger award requires 15 nominations: do I know 15 other blogs? That may take some work! And I have to answer some questions that appear superficial but have depths I may not wish to plumb.

For the moment, then, I will just thank S. and point you to her inspirational and versatile blog, and some very honest self-searching posts. She sounds like someone I’d like to meet some day. In the meantime, I’ll take each award in turn and try to comply with the terms.

Let’s begin with this one:

Conditions for the Versatile Blogger Award

1) Thank the person who gave you this award

2) Include a link to their blog

3) Nominate 15 bloggers who cover an array of topics for the Versatile Blogger Award

4) Finally, tell the person who nominated you 7 things about yourself.

1 and 2 are done: Thank you, Secret World of S. Maybe the S. stands for SURPRISE!

You’ll have to wait in suspense for my nominations – fully in the tradition of all award ceremonies! And as for 7 things about me – that also requires some thought. So – Watch this space!

One thought on “Unexpected Honour (Part I)

  1. Catherine, I am delighted and it is a well deserved award, alas – the terms are not easy, are they? I love reading your ‘musings’ and always look for it daily. You have inspired many of us. So enjoy the moment – you deserve the recognition. Don’t second guess it – you are incredible. That said – enjoy your day and weekend.

Leave a Reply

