Jack Frost Was Here

Just after Christmas I was reminiscing yet again here about the days before central heating, and mentioned the fragile patterns made by the frost on cold windows. I knew I had a photo somewhere taken last winter, when  temperatures plunged well below zero, but had not found it in time. Now it has turned up (in the wrong directory as usual) and I can’t resist posting it.

And I thank the Lord that I can still gasp in awe when I wake up and see this natural, beautiful ‘artwork’: a consolation for the cold and damp.

And – a later addition – it has inspired an attempt at a haiku:

Frosty graffiti
On the frozen windowpane
Warms my wintry heart .

2 thoughts on “Jack Frost Was Here

  1. It has been decades that I lived in a climate where this occurs. I must confess that I miss these images from my childhood and early adulthood.. It brought a smile this morning. Thanks

  2. Pingback: Open My Eyes « It Just Dawned On Me

Leave a Reply

